Recipes for the day…

So, initially I was thinking that I’d show you my current TOC,  then I thought I better ask my editor first.  I’m supposed to Skype with her this week so I guess it can wait.  I have to balance out my recipes across the chapters so I’ll start with “Apps and Snacks”.  I’ve got 3 recipes so far:

Japanese Crispix Party Mix (Furikake Arare)

Crudite with Miso Marinade

Japanese Rice Balls (Onigiri)

I need more…

So, keeping in mind that my friend Elisabeth wants to see some vegetarian recipes, I’ve added these.  Which of these do you like or not like from just the title?  Do you have any suggestions for other ingredients that I could incorporate into Japanese appetizer and snack recipes?

Veggie Potstickers (Gyoza)

Edamame Hummus

Easy Won Tons

Apple & Pecan Miso Nibbles

Japanese Pumpkin Puffs (Kabocha)

Oven Baked Vegetable Tempura

Tofu Tempura (Agedashi Dofu)

Baked Chicken Bites (Tatsutaage)

Cucumber Salad (Sunomono)

Ginger Shrimp

Boiled Spinach with Sesame Dressing (Gomaae)

Going to bed now…my brain is fried.

Tags: ,

Categories: Cookbook Ideas

Author:Amy Kimoto-Kahn

I'm 100% Japanese and am the fourth generation to live in the United States, making me a Japanese-American Yonsei. I'm also a mom of three spirited kids - Maggie (8 yrs), Ryan (6 yrs) and Ellie (2 years) and a wife to my awesome husband Dave. I'm currently writing a cookbook on ramen called 'Simply Ramen' with Racepoint Publishing. This blog documents my journey and is a way for me to share some of my family's secrets while gaining real honest feedback on what people are looking for. Wish me luck!

Subscribe & Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Recipes for the day…”

  1. Larry
    August 10, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    Amo – baked chicken bites sound ez pz to me

  2. rachel
    August 10, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    I’d like to test out the cucumber salad recipe and of course japanese rice balls would be loved by my kids!

  3. Alex
    August 14, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    Go Amy go! Great idea. Let’s all go to Japan and research!

  4. Jenn S.
    August 16, 2011 at 5:56 am #

    Apple & Pecan Miso Nibbles & Japanese Pumpkin Puffs sound delish. And I’d love to see an EZ PZ recipe for them both!

Leave a comment